Day 8

27 Jul

Day 8: A picture that makes you laugh

My first instinct was to round up all the old pictures I could find of Eric and I and parade them here; mostly because I find it amusing to look at us back in the day and laugh.  But I don’t think that would be very funny for you, my faithful reader.  Also, there is a lot more of this challenge, and I have a feeling there will be more opportunity to drown you in the sappiness of a relationship revisited.  So I opted for something more universally amusing.

A wet cat.  Or kitten in this case.  When we got him, Eli was a farm cat with mites.  So the first thing we did was give him a little kitty bath.  Needless to say, he didn’t enjoy it, but he weighed 2 lbs so what could he do about it?  Pictures of baby Eli always make me chuckle, because he was so goofy looking!

Eli came into our lives as a freebie at the Grinnell Farmer’s Market.  I had been desperate for another cat for a while, and managed to trick myself and Eric into believing another cat would be good for Thora because I mistook her constant surliness for loneliness.  We had been talking about a new cat for a while, and decided a kitten would be best because Thora could assert her dominance easily over one, and a male would be best because then there wouldn’t be so many territory issues.  Of course this was when we were both just out of college and we were totally broke.  $60 for an adoption fee was a daunting prospect, so when we saw the box of free kittens at the market, of course we couldn’t resist.  Eli was the only male in the box, and I was thrilled he was grey (I have a thing for grey cats) so we scooped him up with high hopes.  Of course today he is my handsome little boy, but he had a lot of growing up to do.  Can we just pause for a second and talk about how UGLY Eli was as a kitten?  He was this tiny little thing that could barely walk.  His ears were bigger than his head, which was also enormous, and his eyes bulged out and were always watery.  He was ugly in that awkward and endearing way only the very young can pull off.  I liked to call him my alien kitten.

As I write this, Eli has entered the computer room with a questioning, “Rrr Rrow?” And as he looks at me, I remind him, even though he is my handsome man, never forget where you came from.

2 Responses to “Day 8”

  1. planbsk8r July 27, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    You forgot to mention how often his needle-sharp teeth would make contact with any skin they could find…

  2. Mom July 28, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    I still think that ‘handsome boy’ photo of him looking out the car window on the drive back to Iowa earlier this year is poster-marketable-great. Funny indeed to compare with his ratty baby look!

Leave a Reply

