My Arch Nemesis (in the kitchen)

14 Jun

No, it’s not Casanova Frankenstein, nor is it Magneto and the always lovely Mystique, Lex Luthor, The Foot Clan or my all time favorite, Metal Head.  Today I came face to face with my most hated and feared member of the Brassica family.  One of the four foods I will not eat is that most popular head of broccoli.  I would gladly eat a million lima beans and a whole mess of brussel sprouts before I willingly seek out broccoli as an addition to my plate.  Lots of people ask me why, if I’m such a fan of veggies in general, do I have such a hatred of broccoli, and honestly, I can’t say why.  I recall a traumatic incident that involved brand new braces and barely cooked broccoli but other than that, all I can say is I just don’t like the stuff.

But what does that have to do with my Tuesday recipe?  Unfortunately for me, the stuff is in season, and we’ve gotten it in the last two CSA shares.  So, I decided to be brave and cook it into something, cleverly disguise it as something edible, instead of letting it go to waste.  It is something I always feel like I SHOULD eat after all.

So with my sidekick Eli in hand, I embarked upon my Kitchen Colosseum challenge.

Broccoli and Asparagus Risotto with green onions and garlic scapes:

Chop two large green onions and one large garlic scape (Remember, don’t waste the green parts!  Those are edible and delicious!)

In a large pan, heat 1 Tbsp olive oil and melt 2 Tbsp butter.  Saute the green onion and garlic scapes

Add 1 1/2 C risotto rice to the pan and saute until translucent.  Add 2/3 C dry white wine to the rice and stir until it is absorbed.

Gradually add 5 cups of stock to the rice.  I used my roasted vegetable paste to make a stock, but you can always use chicken stock.  I add one cup at a time, stirring until most of the liquid is absorbed, then I add another cup of broth.  The rice should get creamy at the end of the cooking process.

Add one small head of chopped broccoli and half a pound of chopped asparagus spears before all the remaining liquid is soaked up (I had to add an extra cup of water here)  Keep stirring so the rice doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pan.  Cook until the rice is creamy and most of the broth is absorbed.

Add 1 C shredded parmesan and another Tbsp of butter and mix to finish.

Of course I served my risotto with a salad because we are swimming in greens right now thanks to the rainy weather.

And there you have it.  Broccoli cleverly disguised as something even I can enjoy and eat.  After all, who doesn’t like rice and cheese?

Leave a Reply

