Vegetarian, Monday thru Friday

10 Jun

As I said in my post on Tuesday, Eric and I have decided to go vegetarian for one week out of the month for at least the next 4 months.  Cooking vegetarian is always kind of a challenge for me because it requires a great deal more preparation and attention than I’m used to giving my normal casserole in the oven.  Armed with several books, and the vast knowledge of the internet and my own mother, I accepted this challenge with much gusto, making sure to steer clear of the easy option (pasta and marinara sauce) all week.  A lot of people think vegetarian and they can’t get past how boring the dishes might be.  But that couldn’t be farther from the truth.  A non meat dish doesn’t have to be a former meat dish with said protein removed.  You have to change the way you think about a meal, and make the focus on something other than meat.

And so, I give you, our week meat free!

Monday: Pad Thai with tofu (thank you mom for the great recipe, even if it was a touch too spicy for my bland Minnesota born taste buds)

Tuesday: White bean soup with greens and potatoes

Wednesday: White pizza topped with asparagus and arugula salad (The first and best white pizza I’ve ever managed to make, and it was perfect.  Also, if you think the idea of having a salad on top of a pizza is weird, give it a chance anyway.  I thought it was weird too, but actually loved it!)

Thursday: After helping a friend move, we ended up going out for cheese pizza.  A classic that I’d forgotten about.  It was great.

Friday: Thursday’s meal plan, which was tofu satay with pickled chard

For lunches we worked on eating the leftover soup with grilled cheese, radish and green sandwiches on my homemade herb bread.

For those of you who have been following me, first off, thank you!  And secondly, I realize the blog has become very food-o-centric lately, and I hope you are enjoying that because I certainly have been enjoying cooking.  However, look out for a return of the usual suspect topics: The garden, which is off and running, my fitness plan, which has been derailed for a variety of reasons, but is currently preparing for a revival, and of course, the cats, who are occasionally too cute not to write about.

One Response to “Vegetarian, Monday thru Friday”

  1. Colline June 10, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    You have done well for your vegetarian week and eaten some tasty food. Yum!

Leave a Reply

