On The Chopping Block: Rhubarb

15 May

This one’s mostly pictures.  I’ve spent over three hours in a hot kitchen, so my brain is a little steamed, I guess.

We inherited four rhubarb plants when we started renting because our landlord requested we keep them for his own use.  I was okay with that.  Until the things got to be humongous, and our landlord had yet to make an appearance to pick any.  So on Thursday, I decided to trim them back a little bit.  I wound up with four gallon freezer bags of the chopped stuff, which incidentally I don’t really care much for.  What I cut was only about a third of the plants, so I immediately began looking for people to take the plant off my hands and ways to put it to use.  Lucky for me, my beloved magazine, Mother Earth News Had just arrived with a whole article on new and improved uses for rhubarb.  I had a few ideas, and with an afternoon to myself today, I began to work. (FYI, my rhubarb is apparently mostly green, which is totally okay!)

I started a pot of what would become jam cooking away on the stove, packed jars with slices that would be pickles, and started chopping for a chunky vinaigrette.

It doesn’t look pretty, but I’m sure it will taste great:

After dusting off the canner, using up most of the vinegar and sugar in the house, and over 3 hours standing and stirring, pouring and dicing, one of the bags was gone, leaving me with a finished product I hope I enjoy more than the standard pie and crisp (which is, incidentally, next up on the docket)

L to R, 5 half pint jars of rhubarb orange jam, 2 pint jars of rhubarb refrigerator pickles (supposedly delicious on grilled meats) and 2 pint jars of rhubarb vinaigrette (hopefully to be eaten in the next few days with the fresh greens we picked up from the farmer’s market yesterday!)

Enjoy eating in season everyone!

4 Responses to “On The Chopping Block: Rhubarb”

  1. aurora May 16, 2011 at 6:19 am #

    Inspiring! I still have frozen rhubarb in the freezer from last year, good idea to make something different with it.

    • fdcarlso May 16, 2011 at 7:15 am #

      I would offer to bring you some, mom, but it looks like you won’t use it 🙂

      • aurora May 18, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

        Chutney please! that I would use ;->

  2. Eric May 18, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    Severin is pretty wild about that jam.

Leave a Reply

