Wednesday Night Barbeque feat. Perfect Pretzel Rolls

11 May

Cooking for two just doesn’t excite me anymore.  Every time I make anything, some of it ends up in the freezer for later, or in a Tupperware for lunch the next day.  I must have at least three to feed, the more the merrier!  Tonight I was lucky enough to host five or Eric’s hungry students workers plus Eric and I.  It’s been hot here, it’s the end of the semester and the weather has been unwaveringly beautiful.  It’s perfect grilling weather, and we decided to brush off the set of lawn games I got on clearance last summer at Target and haven’t used yet.

I have been experimenting with pretzel rolls for a few weeks now after having a divine pulled pork sandwich with coleslaw on a soft pretzel roll at Dragon Wagon BBQ here in town.  The first time they were too hard.  The next time they were too small, and also too hard.  Eric requested I make some more for this dinner, and I wanted to get them just right, third time’s a charm right?  Imagine my horror when I went to check on the dough after an hour of rising and found it had begun to fall.  I immediately pulled it out and formed the rolls, hoping for the best during a second rise.  I got my wish, and I pronounce tonight’s effort the best yet.  I made them larger on purpose, because who wants to eat a burger that’s twice the size of the bun?

That weight off my shoulders I was able to focus on the second task of the evening:  Wild Rice burgers inspired by the Harvest Moon wild rice burger from Fitger’s Brewhouse in Duluth, MN.  I’ve made these before, and they’ve been tasty, no doubt, but none have rivaled the original.  Lucky for me someone else had the same desire, and managed to concoct their own recipe, which I happily stole and made my own.  I make my version with polenta, which is a pain in the ass to prepare, but delicious nonetheless.  As usual, the patties were much too crumbly to put on the grill, but once they were baked and topped with a slice of swiss cheese, proved very handsome indeed.

And of course, where would we be without our old standby?  The good old turkey burger rounded out the meal, which I served with a green salad and balsamic vinaigrette dressing.

As the crowd sat out on the lawn enjoying the pre-summer breeze, we assembled our delicious and attractive picnic style meal.

So, if you are in the area and want a good meal that is a little out of the ordinary, come on by.  My table may be small, but it’s always open!

2 Responses to “Wednesday Night Barbeque feat. Perfect Pretzel Rolls”

  1. JamieAnne May 11, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    Looks great!

    • fdcarlso May 11, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

      Thanks for the props, and thanks for visiting, Jamie!

Leave a Reply

