So, what have you been up to lately?

9 May

It’s a question I get asked a lot these days.  I wonder if you hate it as much as I do sometimes?  I often get a puzzled look after I honestly answer the awkward pleasantry.  The truth is, I’m not doing much of consequence, and though those asking the question are usually well-meaning, they don’t actually want to hear that I went to the gym for the billionth time in a row, or about how I walked to the library and talked Stephen King with the check out boy yet again.  (These things are reserved for you, my oh so faithful readers)  But today I can hold my head high as I say without shame what I have been up to.

This is what I did today; I took a long walk, then I sat out on my lawn in the sun reading and writing, and it was fabulous.  So the next time someone asks me what I’m up to and after my honest answer of, “Just hanging out.” gives me that look, I will remember.  And I will spare that person a thought the next time I’m enjoying a beautiful 70 degree day in the sun.

Leave a Reply

