Photo Project: Colors of Spring

27 Apr

Every so often I like to pretend I’m a photographer.  This spring I noticed I have been looking at newly emerging plants with more than an admiring eye.  I wanted to capture the idea of the colors coming out all around me, and the life that had been keeping me company in our small town.  It was cloudy the day we went out with the camera, but I’ve discovered color correction and had fun playing with in order to achieve my ultimate goal. It was difficult to pick only four, but in the end it came down to my favorite plants as well as my best shots.

These are the colors of spring in Grinnell, Iowa

Yellow

Green

Red

Dusty Pink

5 Responses to “Photo Project: Colors of Spring”

  1. Eric April 27, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    I think the green is my favorite of the really color corrected ones, but that was a really pretty red tulip and those yellow bushes were really awesome when they all burst into color.

  2. aurora April 28, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    Those are all frame-able, how vibrant! My favorite: the dusty pink magnolia buds, they are soooo fat…….

  3. Little Things of Life May 7, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    Cheery pictures on a gloomy day!!! Where I grew up, I remember forsythia as the first sign of Spring! The Japanese magnolia is always one of my favorites. I enjoyed your recent posts and look forward to visiting again 🙂

    • fdcarlso May 7, 2011 at 10:55 am #

      Hey! Thanks for stopping by! I find pictures of things in bloom so reassuring especially here in the midwest, and have had a blast photographing them myself this season.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Colors of Spring v. 2.0 « Tomato Forest - May 14, 2011

    […] while back I was celebrating the arrival of Spring with a photo project.  I went around town taking photos of the first brave plants to emerge in the sometimes […]

Leave a Reply

