Oh How They Grow…

20 Apr

If you think I’m waxing nostalgic for my children, you’re sort of right.  Only, my kids are green and like to stay in the dirt long after everyone else has gone to bed.

I remember looking into my makeshift nursery on a chilly day in February and finding my tomato seedlings beginning to sprout their true leaves.  My joy at this sight is doubtless something any gardener can tell you about, but most gardeners time their plantings better than I do.  Now, two months later, I’m feeling overrun.

It’s balmy a high of 58 degrees for the week, and all I can think about is when I can get the damn plants out of the house.  A few have already suffered scalding from growing up into the lights, and I can only shuffle them around so many times until they are all just too tall.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m thrilled at how big and bushy most of the plants are.  It’s definitely the best crop yet, I’m just not thrilled with the idea that I have probably one more month before I can put them outside for good.  Until then it’s a risky waiting game.  Last year should have been a learning year for me.  The fact is, tomato plants shouldn’t be three feet tall before they even make it into the garden, but mine were.

I’m impatient.  My gardening habits are a clear indication.  I can’t wait until March to start my tomatoes.  6-8 weeks before the move outdoors is merely a suggested time-line when it comes to my little ones.  Sometimes they have flowers before they go into the garden, sometimes not, but it never seems to really speed up the process much.  Put my tomatoes in the ground alongside a store bought specimen, and they most likely will fruit at the same time, but that isn’t why I start early in the first place.

I just get so eager for that first sweet taste of spring, that I want to accelerate the process.  I was all geared up to put in peas and beans a week ago and then we got slapped with a few 30 degree and rainy days.  Since moving to a warmer climate like California or Florida where I can grow produce all year round is nothing but a sweet dream at this point, I will endure this test of patience, and admire my crop, however overrun it may be.

Leave a Reply

