Blueberry Bran Muffins: Another reason I’m happily unemployed

18 Apr

Never before in my life did I dream I would turn into the baking queen I apparently am.  Coming home from a day of teaching feeling tired from getting up at 5 am, tense from my hour plus commute, weighed down by thousands of hand drawn princesses, ice cream cones and super heroes, I never would have thought; I feel like fresh bread.  I’ll just go ahead and make some.  After a harrowing shift at Target when all I could think about was burning my sweaty red shirt and ill-fitting stiff khaki pants and maybe collapsing with a drink in my hand, never; Cookies would be a nice treat.  Let’s pop some in the oven. 

Yet last night, after a wonderful steak and green bean dinner, I was feeling a little desert-ish, and voiced my desires for a muffin.  Eric responded with, “Why don’t you make some.”  I thought about it for a minute or two.  Sure, why not?  So I whipped up a batch of blueberry bran muffins and 30 minutes later, my craving was satisfied.

Am I saying that people with jobs can’t make muffins?  No.  I’m just saying when I have a job, I never make muffins, or bread, or soup that takes all day, or roasts, etc.  I realize all this baking doesn’t necessarily fit in with my six day a week workout routine, but it’s doing wonders for my mental health.  Being able to take time to do things for myself is immensely satisfying, and I only have to eat a little bit of the homemade goodness.  The rest goes to Eric, who is more than happy to eat the bounty.

I’m serious, it only took me half an hour, and they turned out perfectly, and I’m a novice at best when it comes to baked goods.  Look tasty?  They were, and you can make them too!

Mix

1 1/2 C wheat bran

1 1/4 C milk (I always use soy now)

Now mix

1 1/4 C whole wheat flour

1 Tbsp baking powder

1/2 C sugar (I used raw sugar)

1/2 tsp salt

Add to bran/milk mixture

1 egg

1/4 c melted butter

Mix everything together

Add 1 C blueberries (mine were frozen)

Spoon into a greased muffin tin.  Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.  Makes 12 muffins.

7 Responses to “Blueberry Bran Muffins: Another reason I’m happily unemployed”

  1. katshealthcorner April 18, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    AWWWWHHHH!!!! I want one of those RIGHT NOW! 😀 What a great recipe! and so healthy too! 🙂

    I love your blog! 🙂

    • fdcarlso April 18, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

      Thanks for the visit! They are totally yummy, and I don’t feel bad about eating them! Super easy, whip up a batch 🙂

  2. Eric April 18, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    Those bran muffins are definitely awesome, and I’m not as big into muffins as you are.

  3. aurora April 19, 2011 at 6:34 am #

    In my cubicle
    early morning, cold breakfast
    want a muffin NOW!

    • fdcarlso April 19, 2011 at 8:30 am #

      Come to Iowa, I have lots 🙂

  4. Maia April 19, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    Just made these with raspberries and chocolate chips! Thanks for the recipe!

    • fdcarlso April 19, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

      Yummy! That sounds awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

