Baby’s First Outdoor Experience…

8 Apr

When I first told my mom I had brought my tomatoes outside for their first drink of sweet natural sunlight, she asked me if I had taken them for a walk around the block.  I love that imagery.  Also, I can totally see myself putting all the plants into a little red wagon and taking them for a stroll.  Yes, I am that crazy plant lady.

Unfortunately, we do not yet have a little red wagon, so basking in the afternoon sun on our small patio had to suffice.  It was a beautiful day, very little wind and sixty degrees.  Most of the plants enjoyed their sit with a long drink of water, but some aren’t doing so well.  It’s always about this point in the growing process that I kick myself for not keeping more plants.  Ce la vie, though, right?  If I hadn’t thinned them down when I did, there would be way too many to plant out in the garden.

I have my fingers crossed that I won’t need to do another round of potting up.  Tomato babies in big 14 inch pots are heavy.

4 Responses to “Baby’s First Outdoor Experience…”

  1. Birch April 8, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    I totally want to see you taking your tomatoes for a walk. It is way too easy to picture!

  2. Eric April 8, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    It’s always sad to see the poor plants that don’t make the transplant! Oh well, I’m sure you won’t be too sad if you have to re-plant a handful of tomato babies to get back up to the correct number (either that or we’ll be trolling around farmers markets in a few weeks for their replacements).

    • aurora April 10, 2011 at 10:02 am #

      Eric, you totally know you are going to be trolling farmer’s markets and bringing home lots of other little stray tomato babies no matter how well the home-growns are doing! Some people just can’t help themselves ;->

      • fdcarlso April 10, 2011 at 11:32 am #

        Hey, I could be into a lot worse things 🙂

Leave a Reply

