One Last Kitchen Hurrah!

5 Apr

Hello, friends!  I’m going to be out of town for a few days.  I need to head up to Minnesota to deal with some family stuff, so I doubt I will be posting for the rest of the week.  But I wanted to leave you with something sweet, so here it is:

Last night, possibly in anticipation of a hiatus from my kitchen, I cooked.  Luckily we live in a town with lots of starving college students and happen to be friends with some of them, because whenever I cook I end up making WAAAY too much for two.  It was windy and blustery outside yesterday and at lunch, Eric declared that he wanted something warm for dinner.  A meal at Waffle House reminded me how much I love raisin toast, so I knew I wanted to try out cinnamon raisin bread.  Eric wanted meatloaf, which I’m a little ashamed to admit I’d never made before, so that made the menu, and what goes with a big pile of meat?  Potatoes!  I looked up a simple scalloped potato dish in The Joy of Cooking, and I was all set.

Everything turned out great, but needless to say the bread was my crowning achievement.  Thankfully my affinity for making bread never goes unappreciated, nor do the results go uneaten.  I can watch happily with my tiny slice as those starving college friends and my skinny partner gobble down the rest.

For the dough:

1 tsp yeast

1 C warm milk (I used soy milk)

Mix together and let the mixture sit until the yeast gets bubbly

3 1/4 C flour

1/2 stick butter chopped

1/4 C sugar

1 tsp salt

1 egg

1/2 C raisins

1/2 Tbsp cinnamon

Mix all ingredients with the proofed yeast/milk mixture.  I had to add more flour.  Cover with a damp towel and let rise for 1 hour or until doubled in bulk.  The recipe I used called for a second rise of 40 minutes, but I skipped that step.

Filling: 3/4 C sugar

1 Tbsp cinnamon

1 Tbsp H2O

Mix together- I added a little more water, but the mix should be kind of dry.

Roll dough out into a something like a rectangle, spread filling along the dough.  Roll it into a log.  Place in an oiled loaf pan, cover with damp towel and let rise again.  (Since I skipped a second rise, I let it go for another hour)  Bake at 425 degrees for 45 minutes.

Voila!

2 Responses to “One Last Kitchen Hurrah!”

  1. keepsmeoutofmischief April 5, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    That looks so good! I really must be less of an impatient baker and start making stuff that needs time to rise!

    • fdcarlso April 5, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

      I’ve found I have more patience when I make bread while making something else, so I have a second cooking project to occupy me during rising. Thanks for the visit!

Leave a Reply

