Green Casualties

1 Apr

There comes a time in every gardener’s life when they have to step up and make some sacrifices.  I’m talking about thinning out here people.  My tomato babies are over seven weeks old, it’s long overdue that I make the godlike choice of who lives to grow another day.  If I had it my way, I would let them all live, and plant one wondrous field full of tomatoes all the colors of the rainbow.  But that is me with my head in the clouds.  The reality is my plants were starting to crowd one another, and my nursery and future garden site are only so big.  It’s hard for me to look at a room full of happy baby plants with room to stretch their limbs and not see the dark side of my actions.

42 plants went into the garbage today.  (Eric showed me how to edit my picture to make it look even more dramatic.)

2 Responses to “Green Casualties”

  1. ajgunter April 1, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    Saddness! I’m so sorry you lost some of your plants! Not to make you feel bad, but Jon and Kate Gosselin were advised to thin out when they discovered they were pregnant with sextuplets and decided not to. God makes a place. LOL, hopefully that made you feel better. 🙂

    I’ll have a moment of silence for my fallen plant hommies.

    • fdcarlso April 1, 2011 at 9:55 am #

      Don’t get me started on Jon and Kate. They’re redic.

Leave a Reply

