Sometimes I hate being right.

23 Mar

Something scary is happening to me in blog land, and I knew it would.  I started this blog for myself, and it’s trying to get away from me.  I wanted to write more, and I am.  Along with this, I have made progress in a few other areas and projects.  I have started my photo journal of my garden for the year (check it out here!) I have an extra motivator to work out, since I blog about it and am in the process of starting a fitness blog with a friend, and it keeps me from watching DVDs all day long and feeling sorry for myself in the evening.  But I feel a tinge of self-pity every time I log in and check my site stats.  On March tenth, I peaked at 81 views.  And my post wasn’t even that interesting!  Since then, my hits have turned to the dismal side, waffling between 3 and 24 per day.

This scared me because it bothered me so much.  I had to remind myself I wasn’t blogging for people out there in cyber-space.  I can probably name at least 10 out of my 15 views from two days ago, and can count on at least two of them to comment every so often.  And this makes me feel good!  Sure, it would be cool to be able to strike a chord with a bunch of random followers out there; to be able to connect with people through writing about the randomness of my day, and I’m not sure how I feel about having Eric come home and be able to summarize my day without me even telling him 😉 but I would rather have two or three die-hard followers who gave me good solid feedback than just look at a spike on a graph and a meaningless number at the end of the day.

And so I’m returned to my initial purpose:  I am blogging for me.  Just like I’m working out for me, and taking time off for me, and trying to get my head back on straight for me.  So, thanks, those six of you out there who graced my words with your presence yesterday, and to those of you who are return readers.  Welcome to my journey.

2 Responses to “Sometimes I hate being right.”

  1. ajgunter March 23, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    I really love this post. It was honest and just a great summary of your blog to date. You have to do it for yourself first and foremost. And although my schedule has turned a complete 180 the past few days I finally got the time to catch up on your blog today. 🙂

    Keep up the good work & we’ll get that fitness blogity blog started soon!

  2. Cleo March 24, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    Personally, I love your blog! So keep writing.

Leave a Reply

