Thoughts on St. Patty’s Tab

17 Mar

I will be the first to admit that I am not an organized person.  I only use my dry-erase calendar to track my workouts, and my phone serves as a time-telling device only most days.  It took me a few minutes this morning as I perused the Facebook world to realize that it is indeed St. Patrick’s Day.  I’ve only gone out expressly for this day twice, and I do seem to have some fuzzy memory of The Fieldhouse Bar in Iowa City and lots of green beer, but I’m pretty sure a birthday and 25 pitchers were involved in that one.

My first brush with St Patty’s was in Savannah, Georgia.  If you’ve never been there before, this day is a HUGE deal for some reason!  I went there for a visit with my friend Tanisha and to see the sights and to get drunk.  We began our St. Patty’s adventure at their local hangout, The Rail, where a good Irish breakfast was being served: Greasy eggs, charred potatoes and some sort of sausage.  The upside?  The breakfast was free with the purchase of a beverage, so I had a Guinness with mine to start the day off right.  I won’t go into details of the hours that followed, but we were broke college students at the time, and I was being exposed to my first “open container” experience, so a case of PBR may have been involved.

Leprechaun

A highlight of the afternoon was meeting a leprechaun.

The lesson learned?  A day spent wearing a shirt sporting the hand written: I’m not Irish, but I’ll drink till I think I am! drinking PBR till my tongue went numb, and beads, beads, and more beads may be fun, but having to wake up at 3am the next morning to catch your airport shuttle?  Forget about it.  Maybe next time I’ll be able to afford that later flight.

My second St Patrick’s Day experience was quite a bit more tame.

Dublin

Fawn, Jim, Amanda at Dublin Underground

Eric was there too, but behind the camera.  The three of us camped out on the floor in front of the bathrooms since there wasn’t a seat left in the house.  This was post-graduation for me, so most of the night was spent enjoying hard cider, making fun of drunken college students and trying to get a cab back to Amanda’s apartment where we could drink Guinness in peace.  A side note:  Dublin Underground is probably one of the cooler bars in Iowa City.  It’s a place where you can play board games and read obscure books  in peace without fear of a frat boy spilling their drink all over you.

So, in closing, St. Patty’s Day 2011 will undoubtedly be the most mature yet.  I will probably do what I usually do.  My hour of yoga is completed, 2,000 yards in the pool await me, and I’ll be heading to Target later to purchase printer ink.  Everyone else out there, have a green beer or a shot of whiskey for me.  I’ll be sticking with mint tea this year.  Cheers!

One Response to “Thoughts on St. Patty’s Tab”

  1. Eric March 17, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    It’s okay I didn’t realize it was St. Patrick’s Day today either when I got up and went to work. I don’t really have a good green shirt for wearing to work, would wearing my green Wales tie on Irish day be too contradictory?

Leave a Reply

