My Life in Contradictions

10 Mar

Ahh, Identity.  We meet again, old friend.  In response to a blog of a friend, I was reminded once again about how society likes to put us into neat little boxes and categorize us so we can be better understood.  I have always hated and fought the assembly line method of finding one’s identity.  Why does one have to fit into something so banal as a personality profile?  Sure, it can help you generalize about yourself, and can help you branch out while networking, but I’ve found I prefer the company of people whose interests differ from my own.  I learn things from those people.  There’s one generalization I can make about myself.  I love to learn new things.  Lately, I’d rather sit quietly and listen than get into an argument over viewpoints.  I know, family and oldest friends, hell just froze over.  Did Fawn just say she’d rather not argue?  It’s true.  It may seem like an oxymoron to say, on a blog about personal growth, that I’ve already done a lot of growing, but the truth of the matter is; as people, we are constantly growing, changing and evolving.  I don’t know about you, but I’m really damn glad I am not the same person I was ten years ago, or even five years ago, for that matter.  Anyway, back to the matter at hand.  I refuse to be placed into a box.  Maybe I go out of my way to be a contradiction, just so I can say I am different, but hey, it works for me.

Ten contradictions about who I am:

1) I can talk to anyone, but I have serious anxiety about meeting new people.

2) My music favorites include; house, pop-punk and classical.

3) I believe in sustainable farming practices, cooking and growing for yourself, and healthy eating choices but there will always be a soft spot in my heart for Hardee’s.

4) I am a prolific reader.  I read more than most people I know but have never read the so called “Classics”– Tolstoy, Bronte, Hemmingway, Dumas, etc.  I don’t care for Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, or F.Scott Fitzgerald.  Stephen King is my hero.  End of story.

5) In the summer I am vain about my skin and hair but I refuse to wear makeup.

6) I sleep about ten hours a night, but am always tired.

7) I consider myself a staunch supporter of womens’ rights, but have a serious crush on Pablo Picasso-possibly the biggest womanizer in the history of the world.

8 ) Most would call me socially and politically liberal, but I believe in using the death penalty in certain situations.

9) I love to garden, but I really don’t weed.

10) I love to swim but can’t really plug my nose well underwater.

 

One Response to “My Life in Contradictions”

  1. ajgunter March 10, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    AMEN Sister! Don’t box us into personality types that will NEVER fully explain who each individual is! 🙂

    Loved this post! I didn’t know you were such a fan of Hardees! yet another reason you should move south. They’re everywhere down here.

Leave a Reply

