Dreaming of Sunny Days

8 Mar

On a dreary afternoon in March, this is what I’m dreaming of as I re-pot my tomato seedlings.  This is just what I needed to get me out of this damp pre-spring slump.  “The Simpsons” make great companions as the warm moist dirt darkens my fingernails.

I awoke this morning to find my cold still going strong, but I made my sleepy way to the pool anyway.  I figured one day of sitting around drinking tea and playing Super Smash Brothers was enough, plus I had to make up for the three butterscotch brownies I ate yesterday.  I was pleased to find I was able to shave another five minutes off of my time despite still feeling crummy.  Walking home I decided I needed to spend some time in my garden to finally shake off the grey weather blahs I’ve been feeling for a while.  All my plants are now in larger pots, which should help keep them from drying out.  Last winter I made the mistake of starting my plants in January, and they were overflowing by the time I finally was able to get them in the ground.  Even with the longer growing season here in Iowa, February still might have been too soon.  After a month, they are looking awesome, and I can’t wait to taste the first fruits of the season.

2 Responses to “Dreaming of Sunny Days”

  1. aurora March 9, 2011 at 6:50 am #

    Love the photo of last year’s bounty! It would be a great subject for a drawing or painting….come ON spring!!

    • fdcarlso March 9, 2011 at 9:43 am #

      I know! It’s snowing here again, which I really don’t enjoy 😦

Leave a Reply

