Hello! My Name is Lucy!

2 Mar

Inspired by Albert Berg’s Freshly Pressed article titled: Eat Your Lima Beans: The Importance of becoming the Writer You Aren’t, I decided to dedicate some much needed time to outlining a story I have been working on since 2003.  I also thought it would be a fun journey to attempt to document, so once a week, I will post the results here.

I am a fan of photo outlining.  I don’t know if that is an actual term, but it should be.  As an aspiring author and a novice artist, I like to combine my talents whenever one fails me.  I have been doing character “sketches” since high school.  My sketches are actual drawings of characters and scenes with accompanying text.  This way I actually get to SEE my character while I am fleshing him/her/it out on the page.  The working title of my piece is “Lucy’s Cross”.  It is currently only 18 pages long and going nowhere.  I can’t let it go.  I decided to start out with a cartoon of the plot so far before I get started on working the actual outline. Please forgive the poor quality of the images.  My scanner apparently doesn’t want to work, so I had to improvise with my camera.

Here we see Lucy.  She is a student at the University of Iowa.  (I hope I don’t get sued for reproducing-badly-our beloved Hawkeye)  She is an outsider, and in a German class she meets Matt, who is also kind of weird.  They share a common interest in art and the German expressionist movement.  Matt and Lucy start seeing one another.

Lucy-of course- gets pregnant, but before she has a chance to tell Matt, the military unit he signed on for after high school is called up to go fight in Iraq.  Lucy decides not to tell him since she is upset with him.

Tedd stumbles across Lucy in an art museum, she is two months along, and no one knows.  Yes, Tedd is supposed to look like Wolverine.  Don’t hate.  Tedd and Lucy sort of hook up and start seeing one another.  He is the first person she tells about the baby and finally decides to keep it.  Now, she needs to figure out how to tell the family, and perhaps poor Matt, who hasn’t contacted her once since leaving.

 

This was all I could stand to draw.  Next week:  Lucy’s family

Stay tuned!

3 Responses to “Hello! My Name is Lucy!”

  1. ajgunter March 2, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    Fun! I think I remember you telling me about this story a long time ago! I’m excited to see where it goes and I love the pictures! 🙂

    • fdcarlso March 2, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

      Thanks for all your support on my blog, Amanda! I am trying to branch out and get more followers, but until then(and hopefully even after), you’re my number 1 fan!

  2. Amanda:) March 2, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    I’m loving the blog, Fawn!

Leave a Reply

