Blog; Friend or Foe?

24 Feb

So this is what it comes to:  Fawn enters the Blogging community.

I have been struggling with my writing craft for probably about a year.  Since I was young I wanted to write, and it came easily to me.  I was involved in workshops, I journaled daily, I even wrote on scraps of paper at work.  I would stay up into the wee hours of the morning, eyes straining at the computer screen putting my finishing touches on writing projects for school, stories for friends and anything written for my own amusement.

Then I went to college.  I thought I wanted to go into journalism.  Hey, why not make my hobby into a career?  I can hang out with interesting people and write all day long.  Perfect, right?  NOT.  My first and only journalism course was an eye-opener.  It might seem like a cop-out, but it all amounted to way too much unappealing work.  Especially since I would undoubtedly be producing writing for an editor’s agenda when all I really wanted to do was write for myself.

I knew in my heart I was not competitive enough to become a “professional writer” plus, I found it ridiculous when I learned that a Creative Writing degree is almost certainly required to aid the success of any budding author.  I was going to college to get a degree to help me begin a career in something.  The muddy beginnings of starving artist-hood seemed impractical for all the love I have in my soul for the craft.  So I continued on, in relative obscurity, to write for my own amusement and fulfilment.

I seem to have hit some sort of creative brick wall.  Ironically enough, I am totally satisfied with my current situation (more to come on that subject later, I am sure) drifting along on my husband’s life path, trying to rediscover my own along the way.  Rereading some of my earlier pieces, my dilemma has become clear.  My best work usually comes out of the worst times in my life; the angst of being a teenager, my parents divorce, losing friends to drugs and alcohol, et. cetera.  Since I (understandably I hope) never want to go back to those times, I have been struggling to find some sort of interesting subject matter to write about that isn’t just another piece of fan-fiction.

By now, if you are still reading that is, you’re probably wondering what the hell my point is, so here it is.  I never cared much for blogs.  I used to see them as forums for lonely people to air their grievances, and toot their own horns.  I guess I still see them as such, but I now realize it can be a very good thing.  My journal is great, but it doesn’t put enough pressure on me to sit down and write every day like it used to.  I need to evolve with the world, and this is the place to do it.  So here we go, Blog.  We can be best friends, or worst enemies, but you can count on one thing; Unless I somehow drown during my daily swim, I will be visiting you every day.  And as boring as some aspects of my life are, I am going to try to use them to cobble together some sort of creative master-piece.  Like it or lump it; I’m here to stay.

3 Responses to “Blog; Friend or Foe?”

  1. Josh Dale February 24, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    YAY! I have something fun to read everyday now 😀

  2. fdcarlso February 24, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    Thanks for being my first comment, Josh!

  3. ajgunter February 24, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    That’s a helluva first post considering you think blogs are for lonely people! Very nicely done! I just started my blog, I’ve decided to focus on unemployment and being unemployed, etc… Anyway there are a lot of amazing blogs out there on all sorts of things! Check out my blogroll to see some kewl blogs! Also- I’ve subscribed to your blog and can’t wait to read! WOOT. (Seemed appropriate, baby).

Leave a Reply

